Just about every state is different, but the general process of becoming a notary is the same. It requires 3 steps, the app, the fee, and the oath. Laws in certain states prohibit notaries entirely. These states, like Ma, are called legal professional only states. Other states may need additional steps like taking (and passing) an exam, taking additional courses, or acquiring things like a notary bond. To get that coveted notary percentage depends on your california’s specific requirements. Once you have done you happen to be ready to get started on the process. Since so many notaries are from California, let’s use this state for instance. notaries
Software – Things that want to go on the software are name (of course), other contact info, and general information about earlier notary commissions (if any), your background etc… That is fairly simple products to fill out. In California you have to be at least 18 years of age. This kind of should be typical across the board. For Washington dc you must pass the state proctored exam for every single term that you carry your commission. Like Washington dc, many states require notaries to provide fingerprints for a background screening. With the California application, an $84 screening cost is required as well. The fees change drastically from condition to state. Some notaries forget to bring a 2″ by 2″ image with the application. (such a passport photo) this is essential with the software.
Fee – The Ordering Authority requires job seekers to pay a credit card applicatoin cost or commission fee. This should be universal across all of the notary areas. When it comes to California it is a $40 filing payment for new and restoring commissions. These are condition issued application fees, so each state is different. You can gamble that if one state requires it though the others do too.
Oath – The oath is the last part of the process. Notary people are required to take an pledge of office. Sometimes the oath can be included into the application. If this sounds the case for you, than your process is 2 steps rather than 3. If not the pledge can be filed with a county clerk or another local official after you have your commission payment, but it usually should be within a specified period of time. You can expect to acquire your state issued percentage certificate 4-6 weeks following the application has been posted. The notary’s final steps are to file the notary bond (if required) also to file their pledge of office with the county clerk.
There are many places to begin with with these steps. You can go to the Country wide Notary Association website to get more information about being a notary in specific states. They should have fees, applications, and other procedures that needs to be taken to complete the process of becoming a Notary Public.
Blake helps companies and people find a notary for wills, affidavits and other documents that a notary can notarize. Blake works for a notary company in Seattle.